The Local Cave and Mine Leader Assessment (LCMLA) Scheme provides an award recognising the competence of those wishing to take responsibility for others underground, for the benefit of employers or others in authority. The main considerations are equally the safety of the group and the conservation of a fragile environment.

Undertaking the Award

The three process diagrams below illustrate how the award can be undertaken, how a Mine award can be transferred to a Cave award (and vice-versa), and how the Vertical component can be added.

Course Descriptions

The following pages can be downloaded to help guide candidates through the various modules of the award scheme.

Recently completed a course?

Following a training or assessment course candidates are encouraged to complete a feedback form. T/As will normally provide these at the end of a course however if you’d rather complete a form online you can do so by clicking here.

Find a Trainer/Assessor

Resources for Candidates

The following documents have been created by the South Wales Outdoor Activity Providers Groups (SWOPAG), although aimed at those working in South Wales the content is also applicable to all other caving regions. Copies of these documents can be downloaded here with thanks from SWOPAG

Log Book Pages (downloads)

Click on any of the following button to download blank log book pages

Core Skills Reassessment

Award holders are required to update their award through either attending an update workshop or completing a qualifying training or assessment course. Candidates who fail to update their awards within the appropriate period (5 years for LCMLA award holders and 3 years for CICs) must complete a Core Skills Reassessment to re-engage with the scheme.

To apply for a CSR click the following link (takes you to the Qualification Management System)

Info for Trainers/Assessors

Trainers/assessors can find guidance, documentation, and resources on the Trainers/Assessors Info page [password protected]

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We’d also like to set optional cookies for more advanced features, but we won’t unless you enable them. Our cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information please see our Privacy Policy. You can change your mind using the “Cookie Choices” link in the footer.