BCA Council

The BCA has a National Council comprising 29 positions which are democratically elected by membership and have a vote on Council:

  • The Officers
  • Group/Club and Individual representatives
  • Regional Council and Constituent Body representatives

There are also numerous additional (non-voting) positions which are appointed annually by BCA Council to serve specific roles/functions.

With the exception of a few key administrative positions, all are staffed by passionate volunteers.

Volunteer to help shape the future of British Caving!

BCA Council meet at least three times per year to conduct the business of the BCA between General Meetings, to progress all of the BCA’s key objectives and facets, react to and explore new ways to benefit caving in the UK and better serve our members.

Election and operation of the BCA Council is set out in our Constitution.

RoleContactEmail
ChairPhil Rowsell (acting)chair@british-caving.org.uk
SecretaryRussell Myers (acting)secretary@british-caving.org.uk
TreasurerHoward Jonestreasurer@british-caving.org.uk
BCA Executive Officers
RoleContactEmail
TrainingNigel Atkinstraining@british-caving.org.uk
Conservation & AccessWill Burnconservation@british-caving.org.uk
Equipment & TechniquesMark Simsequipment@british-caving.org.uk
Youth & DevelopmentJosh Whiteyouth@british-caving.org.uk
Publications & InformationRostam Namaghipandi@british-caving.org.uk
BCA Officers
RoleContactEmail
Artificial CaveKatie Eavisartificial.cave@british-caving.org.uk
Cave RegistryDavid Cookeregistry@british-caving.org.uk
CRoW ConvenorDavid Rosecrow@british-caving.org.uk
FSE RepresentativeGed Campionfse@british-caving.org.uk
Insurance ManagerHoward Jonesinsurance@british-caving.org.uk
IT ConvenorAri Cooper-Davisit@british-caving.org.uk
British Caving LibraryJenny Pottslibrary@british-caving.org.uk
Media LiasonPosition Vacantmedia@british-caving.org.uk
Membership AdministratorWendy Williamsmembership@british-caving.org.uk
Newsletter EditorDavid Rosenewsletter@british-caving.org.uk
Qualifications Management Committee ChairJuliet Parker Smithchair.qmc@british-caving.org.uk
Radon ConvenerGethin Thomasradon@british-caving.org.uk
Rope TestingBob Mehewrope@british-caving.org.uk
Safeguarding OfficerChris Boardmansafeguarding@british-caving.org.uk
Training AdministratorMary Wildetrainadmin@british-caving.org.uk
UIS RepresentativeAndy Eavisuis@british-caving.org.uk
Vision ConvenerHellie Adamsvision@british-caving.org.uk
Web ServicesDavid Cookewebservices@british-caving.org.uk
WebmasterGary Douthwaitewebmaster@british-caving.org.uk
Additional Council-Appointed Positions
RepresentingContactRepresentingContact
Group/Club (1)Hellie AdamsIndividual Member (1)Phil Rowsell
Group/Club (2)Josh WhiteIndividual Member (2)Will Burn
Group/Club (3)Idris WilliamsIndividual Member (3)Andrew McLeod
Group/Club (4)Rostam NamaghiIndividual Member (4)Jenny Potts
Member Representatives
RepresentingContactRepresentingContact
Association of Caving InstructorsStephan NatynczukBritish Cave Rescue CouncilEmma Porter
British Cave Research AssociationJohn GunnCambrian Caving CouncilStuart France
Cave Diving GroupClaire CohenCouncil of Higher Education Caving ClubsDavid Botcherby
Council of Northern Caving ClubsPosition VacantCouncil of Southern Caving ClubsLinda Wilson
Derbyshire Caving AssociationWayne SheldonDevon and Cornwall Underground CouncilDavid Jean
National Association of Mining History OrganisationSteve HoldingNational Caving Scout Active Support UnitTony Radmall
William Pengelly Cave Studies TrustRichard Vooght
Regional Council and Constituent Body Representatives