BCA Council

The BCA has a National Council comprising 29 positions which are democratically elected by membership and have a vote on Council:

  • The Officers
  • Group/Club and Individual representatives
  • Regional Council and Constituent Body representatives

There are also numerous additional (non-voting) positions which are appointed annually by BCA Council to serve specific roles/functions.

With the exception of a few key administrative positions, all are staffed by passionate volunteers.

Volunteer to help shape the future of British Caving!

BCA Council meet at least three times per year to conduct the business of the BCA between General Meetings, to progress all of the BCA’s key objectives and facets, react to and explore new ways to benefit caving in the UK and better serve our members.

Election and operation of the BCA Council is set out in our Constitution.

Voting Positions

Executive Officers
ChairRussell Myers
SecretaryAllan Richardson
TreasurerHoward Jones
Member Representatives
Group/Club (1)Lydia LeatherIndividual Member (1)Jenny Potts
Group/Club (2)Idris WilliamsIndividual Member (2)Andrew Mcleod
Group/Club (3)Josh WhiteIndividual Member (3)
Group/Club (4)Individual Member (4)
You can read more about the group representatives here, and Individual Representatives here
Regional Council and Constituent Body Representatives
Association of Caving InstructorsStephan NatynczukBritish Cave Rescue CouncilEmma Porter
British Cave Research AssociationJohn GunnCambrian Caving CouncilJohn Sheehy
Cave Diving GroupClaire CohenCouncil of Higher Education Caving ClubsJennifer Ryder
Council of Northern Caving ClubsAndrew HindeCouncil of Southern Caving ClubsEd Waters
Derbyshire Caving AssociationMike HigginsDevon and Cornwall Underground CouncilDavid Jean
National Association of Mining History OrganisationSteve HoldingNational Caving Scout Active Support UnitTony Radmall
William Pengelly Cave Studies TrustRichard Vooght

Non-voting Positions

Working Group Convenors
Conservation & Access
Countryside Rights of Way (CRoW)David Rose
ITAri Cooper-Davis
Publications & Information
Qualifications Management CommitteeGeorge Plant
Training & EquipmentSteve Gray
VisionAndrew McLeod
Youth & DevelopmentJosh White
Additional Council-Appointed Positions
Artificial CaveKatie Eavis
British Caving LibraryJenny Potts
FSE RepresentativeGed Campion
Insurance ManagerHoward Jones
Library RepresentativeJenny Potts
Membership AdministratorKatie Eavis
Newsletter EditorDavid Rose
Safeguarding OfficerChris Boardman
Training AdministratorMary Wilde
UIS RepresentativeAndy Eavis

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We’d also like to set optional cookies for more advanced features, but we won’t unless you enable them. Our cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone. For more information please see our Privacy Policy. You can change your mind using the “Cookie Choices” link in the footer.